A&WMA Richard I. Stessel Waste Management Award

The Richard I. Stessel Waste Management Award, established by the Board of Directors on June 29, 1989 and named for Stessel in 2012, is for an individual or organization related to the field of waste management,

Eligible Recipients:

  • Individuals
  • Organizations

Only A&WMA members can be nominated for the Gruber, Scherr, and Honorary Member (as well as Fellows and Outstanding Young Professionals) awards, but anyone can be nominated for the Chambers, Griswold, Mellon, Ripperton, and Stessel awards. Nominations for these awards may be made by anyone, including sitting A&WMA Board members. However, sitting A&WMA Board members and award committee members cannot submit letters of support or be nominated for these awards.

Eligible Projects:

  1. Outstanding achievements in the science and art of waste management (the accomplishment on the part of the recipient is technological in nature and widely recognized by persons in the field)
  2. Outstanding achievement in the management, prevention and regulation of wastes (the recipient may be an employee in government, industry, education or research, whose accomplishments have led to minimizing the impact of waste in the environment)
  3. Distinguished achievement as an educator in the field of waste management.

Funding Source:
Air & Waste Management Association (A&WMA)

Funding Amount:

December 1, 2022

Lisa Moses, Air & Waste Management Association
Phone: +1-412-232-3444
Fax: +1-412-232-3450 (if faxing, please notify of this by email due to staff working remotely)

More Information: